Staff and Advisory Council

Margo Smith AM

PHD University of Virginia, MA University of Virginia, BA William and Mary

Margo is an anthropologist who conducted fieldwork in central Australia in 1991-1993 and has worked with the Kluge-Ruhe Collection since 1995. She co-edited Art from the Land: Dialogues with the Kluge-Ruhe Collection of Australian Aboriginal Art with Dr. Howard Morphy.

Henry F. Skerritt

Curator of the Indigenous Arts of Australia
PhD University of Pittsburgh, MA University of Pittsburgh, MA University of Melbourne, BA Honors University of Western Australia

Henry is an art historian and curator hailing from Perth, Western Australia. He curates exhibitions of Indigenous Australian art, and leads research and teaching initiatives at UVA using the collection’s holdings.

Nicole Wade

Collections Manager and Registrar
MA University of New Mexico, Graduate Certificate – George Washington University, BA University of Virginia

Nicole ensures the proper care and preservation of the permanent collection, managing the exhibition, storage, conservation, and record keeping of each object. Having spent the last decade caring for museum collections at the University of Virginia, she brings a comprehensive background in collections management, registration, and preservation.

Lauren Maupin

Education and Program Manager
MA University College London, BA Messiah College

Lauren provides educational, programmatic, marketing and financial support to the collection, and has work experience with a number of art galleries internationally. She has worked with several art historians as well as an independent curator. She also teaches an art history course at Piedmont Virginia Community College.


Ed Miller

Visitor Services Specialist
MFA University of Tennessee, BFA Radford University

Ed provides weekend support for the museum and assists with educational and programming activities. He is a sculptor, has extensive experience teaching art to UVA students and adults of all ages, and has experience in sculptural fabrication and curation.


Kluge-Ruhe Advisory Council Members

The Kluge-Ruhe Advisory Council provides invaluable support and advice to the museum on an ongoing basis. Current members include:

  • Ambassador Damien Miller
  • Katherine Brooks
  • Lesley Cannady
  • James G. Harris
  • Glenn Iseger-Pilkington
  • Frances Morphy
  • Howard Morphy
  • Terry Snowball
  • Marc Sobel, Chair
  • John Wilkerson